DHSM Receives State Funding

DHSM Receives State Funding

State Funding from 2019 is Helping Dedham Historical Expand Outreach, Improve Facilities, and Plan for the Coming Years

The Dedham Historical Society & Museum is most grateful to Representative Paul McMurtry and Senator Mike Rush for working together to secure funds for the DHSM in the FY2019/2020 State Budget. The DHSM extends further appreciation to Governor Baker and the efforts of allassociated government staff. The funding, which came through in early 2020, is an important
investment in the community, the DHSM’s future, and the DHSM’s ability to serve the Town of Dedham and beyond.

The State funds are being used for two Feasibility Studies and a Strategic Plan, with an estimated completion timeline by the end of 2020. Two committees have been formed and are comprised of members of Dedham’s community, DHSM staff, and Board members; those contributing their time and insight are noted below.

The purpose of the Feasibility Studies is twofold. Janiga Design (www.JanigaDesign.com), based in Jamaica Plain, has been hired as a concept designer to rethink the museum spaces, visitor experiences, educational interpretation, installations and exhibits. The goal is to propose
feasibility cost estimates for final design, production, and installation. Gorman Richardson Lewis Architects (www.GRLArchitects.com), an AIA, LEED, AP accredited architectural firm in Hopkinton, has been hired to conduct an evaluation and assessment of costs and needs relevant
to updating the museum and archives for exterior and interior ADA-compliant accessibility, analyzing structural and architectural conditions and mechanical needs, and integrating the exhibit designer’s concept designs.

Additionally, Laura Roberts of Roberts Consulting (www.LauraRoberts.com) is working with a committee on a new Strategic Plan for DHSM. The plan will create a roadmap for the museum’s continuing success, its many goals, and the strategies that will enable DHSM to advance its mission to serve the community and preserve Dedham’s history, past and present, and to engage
the many voices within the Town. Both committees coordinate with one another.

The DHSM is grateful to the following individuals for their involvement. Strategic Planning Committee members include (alphabetically): Vicky Berg, Joe Borsellino, Kate Brannelly, Stephen Brayton, Mike Butler, Kate Cahill, Dan Driscoll, Karen Durham, Heidi Fieldston, Kevin Hampe, Jim Kaufman, Anna Kijas, Marty Lindemann, Diane Barry Preston, and Molly
Uppenkamp. Feasibility members include Gail Coughlin, Andrea Gilmore, Dan Hart, Jack Hoell, Janet Holmes, Carl Jay, Renee Johnson, Jim Kaufman, Judy Neiswander, Joan Pagliuca, and Mark Whalen. Staff members on both committees are membership & education coordinator Judy House, archivist Kathryn Ostrofsky, and executive director Johanna McBrien.

Said Representative Paul McMurtry about the funding, “I am happy to once again work with Senator Rush, this time to secure these funds for the Dedham Historical Society. This appropriation will help DHSM to modernize and engage a new generation, and share the rich history of our Town and region as they have done for well over 100 years.” Added Senator Mike
Rush, “Representative McMurtry and I worked together in the legislature to secure necessary funds for the Dedham Historical Society. I am impressed by the outstanding work that the Dedham Historical Society has done over the years to share the history of Dedham with its residents. These funds will allow for updates and improvements making this important information accessible to all.”

This is an important turning point for the DHSM, which was founded in 1859. The DHSM is most appreciative to Representative McMurtry and Senator Rush and the of State of Massachusetts for making this planning possible, and to all involved on both committees. The DHSM welcomes questions, comments, and suggestions, and may be reached at
[email protected]. For more information, visit www.dedhamhistorical.org.

Caption: Senator Mike Rush, DHSM Board Vice President Jim Kaufman, Executive Director Johanna McBrien, and Representative Paul McMurtry.